El Paso

221 N. Kansas, Suite 1700
El Paso, TX 79901
Phone: 915.533.4424
Fax: 915.546.5360


2905 San Gabriel St, Suite 205, 
Austin, TX 78705
Phone: 512.320.5466
Fax: 512.320.5431

Las Cruces

3800 E. Lohman Ave., Suite C
Las Cruces, NM 88011
Phone: 575.527.0023
Fax: 915.546.5360

Please read before contacting Kemp Smith:

Do not send or include any information in any email generated through this web site if you consider the information confidential or privileged. By submitting information by email or other communication in response to this web site, you agree that the communication does not create a lawyer-client relationship between you and the law firm and its lawyers and that any information submitted is not confidential and is not privileged. You further acknowledge that, unless the law firm subsequently enters into a lawyer-client relationship with you, any information you provide will not be treated as confidential and any such information may be used adversely to you and for the benefit of current or future clients of the law firm.

search by Practices
search by Location

Mitzi T. Shannon

Email: mitzi.shannon@kempsmith.com
Telephone: 915.533.4424 / Fax: 915.546.5360

Mitzi Shannon is a former partner in the firm's Trial Department who has retired and is now serving in the Of Counsel role. Ms. Shannon’s focus was commercial litigation involving construction, contracts, civil rights defense litigation, environmental matters, class actions, lender liability matters and government contracting issues. She has participated in numerous arbitrations and mediations as part of alternative dispute resolution, and has represented clients both in state and federal court.

While Mitzi is no longer available to handle your legal matters, our trial department is ready to assist and Mitzi would be happy to introduce you to them.


“Catch 22 – Statutory v. Common Law Warranties: A History of Legislative and Judicial Intervention in Construction Litigation in Texas”

“East River’s Economic Loss Rule Applies to Modifications Made to Existing Maritime Vessels”

“Liability Under Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act”

“5th Circuit Overturns Arbitration Award Against Corporate Officers”


American Bar Association’s Section of Litigation Annual Conference: “Litigating Hate in the Workplace: Legal Ramifications of Intolerance and Unpopular Speech”

26th Annual Construction Law Conference: “Perspectives on Disputed Work/Time”

American Bar Association Section of Litigation Annual Conference: “Countering the Empty Pocket Defense and Other Tips for Settling Commercial Cases in a Bad Economy”

American Bar Association Regional CLE Speaker on Business Development for Business Litigators.





  • University of Virginia School of Law, J.D., 1982
  • Mary Washington College, B.A., summa cum laude, 1979


  • State Bar of Texas
  • Federal Bar Association
  • American Bar Association
  • Texas Bar Foundation
  • El Paso Bar Association
  • El Paso Bar Foundation
  • Texas Association of Defense Counsel


  • Texas, 1982
  • U.S. District Court, Western, Northern and Southern Districts of Texas
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit
  • U.S. Supreme Court

Professional & Civic Involvement

  • Co-Chair of Commercial and Business Litigation Committee of the Section of Litigation of the American Bar Association
  • Member of Construction Litigation Committee of the Section of Litigation of the American Bar Association
  • Member of Construction Law Section of the State Bar of Texas
  • Editorial Board of the Texas Construction Law Journal
  • Past Board Chair of United Way of El Paso
  • Past Member of Construction Law Council of the State Bar of Texas
  • Past Co-Chair of the Construction Litigation Subcommittee of the American Bar Association
  • Past Book Editor for Commercial and Business Litigation Section of the American Bar Association
  • Past Board President of Boys & Girls Club of El Paso
  • Past Board President of Child Crisis Center
  • Past Board President of Hospice of El Paso
  • Past Board Member of YWCA of El Paso
  • Fellow of Texas Bar Foundation
  • Fellow of El Paso Bar Foundation